The Last Humanity - Connor Wyant

Working on the Game - May 12th, 2021

Collecting my ideas for my game began with the biggest threat to humanity today, global warming. I've been very passionate about this topic ever since I learned about it since most leaders of the world just don't care because they either think it isn't real, everyone is being overdramatic, or some other reason. I know almost everyone knows about it but I don't think they really understand why it's such as a big deal. I also wanted to increase the attention to it since it could greatly damage everyone's future. I took one of my biggest worries and combined it with a concept very dear to me, simulations. I think soon humans will be able to create simulations that can truly create new worlds for you to live and be fully immersed in it. We've already seen a sort of baby version of the future with VR which has some people still forgetting that they're still in the real world since the screen is so believable. For my game, I use the global warming concepts mostly for the story and the simulations being for pure gameplay since I don't think it'd be realistic to show the player fixing global warming as a game since it's unrealistic; not one person can fix this problem, everyone must work together. I think simulations will be popular with games as well which is why I limited the simulations to gameplay.

The most fun part for me has been writing the story since it's the most daunting task in designing the game. However, I believe that if I get the chance from people to start making my game, then my favorite part of making it will definitely be designing simulations and implementing them. Even though I haven't reached this step, I've been thinking and writing down a bunch of simulations I want to put in.

Below is some concept art for what simulations will look like, this image is specifically depicting what the obstacle course ones will look like!

Sneak Peek of Concept Art:


As previously stated this is concept art for what the obstacle course simulations will look like. I chose a light blue wall with white bordering ramps connecting to them because I think the light expresses the futuristic looks of the simulations. The light red represents the void that if fallen into will force the player to either game over or lose a life. The arrows on the wall will be semi-transparent to keep a more futuristic look with the green arrows on the ground not being transparent so the player understands where to go. The skybox will be all black with green 0 and 1s in them to show a represent how there's something missing in the technology; a feeling of incompleteness.